121 Larchmont Avenue   Larchmont, NY 10538   (914) 834-2281

Stepping Stones by Lucy Knisley

Stepping Stones by Lucy Knisley – Graphic Novel /Recommended for Children age 8 & up.

Summary:

So much is changing in Jen’s life and she HATES it! She has to move from the city to a farm with her mom and her mom’s new boyfriend Walter. She’s expected to do chores like clean the chicken coop ( ew!) and help sell produce at the farm stand. On top of everything else, she has two new “sisters”, Walter’s daughters Andy and Reese, who seems to be able to do everything right, while Jen does everything wrong. Over the course of the summer Jen learns to deal with change, form new relationships, and find where she fits within her new family.

Review:

In the tradition of Raina Telegemeier’s and Shannon Hale’s graphic novel series, Knisley’s semi-autobiographical story conveys the feelings of frustration and powerlessness that come with the challenges of growing up. Young readers will be able to identify with Jen, while flying through this well-illustrated, well-paced graphic novel. The first title in a series.

Read A-likes: Sisters  by Raina Telgemeier, Sunny Side Up! by Jennifer L. Holm, Real Friends by Shannon Hale

This title was also recommended by Mamaroneck Public Schools for Elementary Summer Reading